Home
Case studies

Franke Aquarotter GmbH

Made by

Outstanding, novel and squeaky-clean design

FRANKE writes the next page in a success story with the RONDAtop and QUADROtop.

Client

Franke Aquarotter GmbH

Industry

Sanitary engineering

Abstract

By embarking on a design development process for its Miranit countertop washbasins, FRANKE had a clear goal in mind: to design attractive products for public and semi-public sanitary settings, with target groups in the fields of architecture and planning. The challenge lay in translating the design vocabulary of existing washbasin fittings, also developed by CULTURE FORM in a previous project, to another product type. The results speak for themselves. Crowned German Design Award winners, the QUADROtop and RONDAtop are the result of our productive, longstanding collaboration with FRANKE. This project also gave CULTURE FORM the opportunity to demonstrate its special strengths. Besides the product design, the agency also drew up the communication concept for the brochures to introduce the new FRANKE products, along with a 360° visualisation on the FRANKE website.

Impact

As winners of the German Design Award, the countertop washbasins are the stars of the FRANKE product range.

Outcome

Successful new design line, “Countertop washbasins”, highlight of ISH 2019

Process

  • Iterative design process

  • Workshops

  • Target group research

Challenge

Translate existing design vocabulary to a new product family.

Innovative design in harmony with the brand identity.

The design of the Miranit countertop washbasins clearly follows the FRANKE design vocabulary. Despite similarities to the shape of the standard fittings, translating and evolving these elements represents a considerable challenge. The delicate rim affords these washbasins a stylish, premium-quality character. In addition, the innovative sealing concept sidesteps unclean silicon joints and further enhances the washbasins’ elegance. We created two variants of these washbasins: a somewhat rectangular model (QUADROtop) and a round model (RONDAtop).

The design process: iteration and evolution

1

Understand

Firing the starting shot with thorough preparation

Following a joint kick-off workshop, we launched into an intensive research phase focused on the target group. This allowed us to identify aspects that formed the basis for the next stages of the design process.

2

Explore

Approximating the design language

In the design concept phase, we use graphic techniques to approximate difference approaches to the design language. Even at this early stage, we had to take specific material properties and manufacturing characteristics into account.

3

Create

Making design elements tangible

In the next phase, design development, we created and visualised all the essential design elements for our preferred design and also created 1:1 models. Working closely with the client’s development team, we then examined the ergonomic properties and tested other aspects.

4

Nurture

Down to the finest detail

In the final stage, we detailed the most design-intensive surfaces with apertures, shaping and surface transitions. We then produced the CAD data for different size variants in line with all known production-technical requirements.

Footer logo
Footer logo.svg

Latest blog entries

You like to read all about new trends and industry insights first?

Subscribe now and don’t miss a thing later.

Input not valid

linkedin
instagram
medium

Home
Projekte

Franke Aquarotter GmbH

Erschaffen von

Ausgezeichnetes, neues Design, das sich gewaschen hat

Mit dem RONDAtop und dem QUADROtop setzt FRANKE eine Erfolgsstory fort.

Kunde

Franke Aquarotter GmbH

Branche

Sanitärtechnik

Erschaffen von

CULTURE FORM

Zusammenfassung

Die Firma FRANKE verfolgte mit der Designentwicklung der Miranit Aufsatzwaschtische ein klares Ziel: Attraktive Produkte für den öffentlichen und halböffentlichen Sanitärbereich mit einer Fokuszielgruppe aus Architektur und Planung entstehen zu lassen. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, die Designsprache der bestehenden, ebenfalls von CULTURE FORM entwickelten Waschtischarmaturen auf einen anderen Produkttyp zu übertragen. Das Ergebnis spricht für sich: Die German Design Award Gewinner QUADROtop und RONDAtop sind das Resultat unserer produktiven und langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit FRANKE. Zudem konnte CULTURE FORM in diesem Projekt seine besondere Stärke zeigen: Neben dem Produktdesign entstand auch das Kommunikationskonzept für die FRANKE Neuheiten-Broschüren sowie eine interaktive 360°-Produktinszenierung auf der FRANKE-Website.

Strahlkraft

Ausgezeichnet mit dem German Design Award sind die Aufsatzwaschtische die Stars des FRANKE Sortiments.

Outcome

Erfolgreiche neue Designlinie „Aufsatzwaschtische”, das Highlight der ISH 2019

Process

  • Iterativer Designprozess

  • Workshops

  • Zielgruppenrecherche

Challenge

Vorhandene Formensprache auf neue Produktfamilie übertragen.

Innovatives Design im Einklang mit der Markenidentität

Das Design der Miranit Aufsatzwaschtische folgt klar der FRANKE Formensprache. Trotz formaler Entsprechungen zu den Standardarmaturen ist die Übertragung und Weiterentwicklung der Elemente eine große Herausforderung. Der zarte Rand verleiht den Waschtischen einen filigranen und hochwertigen Charakter. Hinzu kommt das innovative Abdichtungskonzept, das keine unsaubere Silikonfuge benötigt und damit das elegante Erscheinungsbild der Waschtische unterstreicht. Wir haben die Aufsatzwaschtische in zwei Varianten realisiert: Eine eher rechteckige (QUADROtop) und eine runde (RONDAtop) Ausführung.

Der Designprozess: Iteration und Evolution

1

Verstehen

Startschuss mit gründlicher Vorarbeit

Nach einem gemeinsamen Kick-off-Workshop startete eine intensive Research Phase zu der spezifischen Zielgruppe. Daraus konnten die notwendigen Grundlagen für die nächsten Stufen im Gestaltungsprozess abgeleitet werden.

2

Explorieren

Annäherung an die Formensprache

In der Phase der Designkonzeption haben wir uns zeichnerisch verschiedenen Ansätzen der Formensprache genähert. Hierbei mussten bereits spezifische Material- und Fertigungseigenschaften berücksichtigt werden.

3

Umsetzen

Designelemente werden greifbar

In der Phase der Designentwicklung wurden alle wesentlichen Designelemente der favorisierten Konzepte im CAD aufgebaut und visualisiert, sowie 1:1-Modelle erstellt. In enger Abstimmung mit dem Entwicklungsteam des Kunden wurden jetzt die ergonomischen Eigenschaften überprüft und weitere Details getestet.

4

Stärken

Bis ins letzte Detail

In der finalen Detaillierung folgte die Umsetzung der Durchbrüche, Anformungen und Flächenübergängen der wichtigsten designrelevanten Oberflächen. Die CAD-Daten wurden entsprechend allen bekannten produktionstechnischen Anforderungen für eine Größenvariante ausgearbeitet.

Footer logo
Footer logo.svg

Neueste Blog-Artikel

Wie wir den Ort schaffen, an dem Komplexität funktioniert?

Das verraten wir in unserem Newsletter.

Input not valid

linkedin
instagram
medium