Home
Careers

Philipp Hafellner

“Working together on something great”

Philipp, do you have an artistic vein?

Yes, I think so – I’ve always had an affinity for digital art, especially the connection between technology and design. And now I’m able to put this to use in my professional life.

Technology and design, how do those fit together for you?

I would also add the users. All three are closely interwoven. Design is meant to serve the users first and foremost. Technical requirements limit that to a certain extent, but design takes the technology further in that regard. And if users come up with new requirements, that immediately has an effect on design and technology. I really enjoy this back and forth.

Philipp on creativity:

Breaking out, perspective, inspiration

How would you describe your work at Sapera?

As a technical product manager, I don’t consider products purely from the technical perspective – I start at a much earlier phase. During design sprints and workshops, we find out what the objective of the project is, and what the customers and the users want. So analysing, validating results, defining requirements, coordinating the team. That’s my job.

You’ve only recently become a technical product manager. What did you do before?

I was a creative developer and more closely involved in the realization, in the “marrying” of data, design, and technology. For me, it’s not just about creating something beautiful, but also about creating added value for the users – something that they can gain insights from.

“For me, it’s not just about creating something beautiful, but also about creating added value for the users.”

Is there such a thing as a favourite task at Sapera?

Not a favourite task exactly, no. We are a big – and growing – team. The best thing is the working environment in large groups, where we create things that many people are going to use later on. Working together on something great. It really is a lot of fun!

Are you able to separate work and leisure?

Definitely not! Simply because my work is one of my hobbies. I always like to do some coding in my free time, because it’s fun for me to do things myself. I then take what I learn and apply it to my job.

Where can you be found when you’re not in front of your screen?

On the climbing wall. In the mountains is even better, on a rock face with ropes, which is of course a bit difficult in Berlin. But since more and more work is being done remotely of late, I’m also able to drive out into nature from time to time to recover.

Philipp Hafellner

Philipp Hafellner has been with Sapera since 2017 and works as a technical product manager. Coding is his thing. Otherwise – as a native of Steiermark, Austria – he also enjoys getting out on the cliffs with a climbing rope.

Philipp LinkedInPhilipp Medium

What other team members say

Footer logo
Footer logo.svg

Latest blog entries

You like to read all about new trends and industry insights first?

Subscribe now and don’t miss a thing later.

Input not valid

linkedin
instagram
medium

HomeKarriere

Philipp Hafellner

„Gemeinsam an etwas Großem wirken“

Wenn er nicht im Fels ist, bringt er Technik mit Design und Usern zusammen.

Philipp, hast Du eine künstlerische Ader?

Ja, ich denke schon, wobei mich speziell Digital Art schon immer sehr angezogen hat – vor allem das Verknüpfen von Technik mit Design. Und das kann ich jetzt auch beruflich ausleben.

Technik und Design, wie passt das für Dich zusammen?

Ich würde noch die User ergänzen. Alle drei sind stark miteinander verwoben. Design soll in erster Linie den Usern dienen. Technische Anforderungen begrenzen das zum Teil. Aber so bringt Design die Technik auch voran. Und stellen User neue Anforderungen, wirkt sich das sofort wieder auf Design und Technik aus. Dieses Spannungsfeld finde ich sehr attraktiv.

Philipp über Kreativität:

Ausbruch, Perspektive, Inspiration

Wie können wir uns Deine Arbeit bei Sapera vorstellen?

Als Technical Product Manager betrachte ich Produkte nicht rein von der technischen Seite, sondern setze schon viel früher an. In Design Sprints und Workshops finden wir heraus: Was ist das Ziel des Projekts, was wollen die Kundînnen und was die User? Also analysieren, Ergebnisse validieren, Anforderungen definieren, Team koordinieren. Das ist mein Job.

Du bist erst seit kurzem Technical Product Manager. Was hast Du vorher gemacht?

Da war ich Creative Developer und noch stärker eingebunden in die Umsetzung, in das „Verheiraten“ von Daten, Design und Technik. Mir geht’s darum, nicht nur etwas Schönes zu kreieren, sondern auch Mehrwerte für die User zu erzeugen – etwas, woraus sie Erkenntnisse ziehen können.

“Mir geht’s darum, nicht nur etwas Schönes zu kreieren, sondern auch Mehrwerte für die User zu erzeugen.”

Gibt es so etwas wie eine Lieblingsaufgabe bei Sapera?

Lieblingsaufgabe jetzt direkt nicht. Wir sind ein großes, wachsendes Team. Am tollsten finde ich die Arbeitsatmosphäre in großen Runden, in denen wir Dinge kreieren, die später sehr viele Menschen nutzen. Das gemeinsame Wirken an etwas Großem. Das macht wirklich Spaß!

Kannst Du in Deinem Job zwischen Arbeit und Freizeit trennen?

Klares Nein! Weil Teile meiner Arbeit schlicht zu meinen Hobbys gehören. Weil es mir Spaß macht, Dinge selber umzusetzen, code ich in meiner Freizeit gern selbst. Ich trage die Erfahrungen dann auch wieder in den Job zurück.

Wenn Du nicht vorm Bildschirm sitzt, wo finden wir Dich?

An der Kletterwand. Noch lieber in den Bergen, im Fels am Seil, wobei das natürlich von Berlin aus ziemlich schwierig ist. Aber da ja auch in jüngster Zeit immer mehr Remote Work angesagt ist, kann ich auch mal in die Natur rausfahren, um mich zu erholen.

Philipp Hafellner

Philipp Hafellner ist seit 2017 bei Sapera und arbeitet als Technical Product Manager. Coden ist sein Ding. Als gebürtiger Steirer ist er sonst gern mal mit Kletterseil im Fels unterwegs.

Philipp LinkedInPhilipp Medium

Was andere Teammitglieder sagen

linkedin
instagram
medium

Wie wir den Ort schaffen, an dem Komplexität funktioniert?

Das verraten wir in unserem Newsletter.

Input not valid

© 2021 Sapera GmbH

linkedin
instagram
medium