Home
Careers

Mary Michel Rizk

“UI design is always a collaboration”

Mary, you speak four languages. How did you manage that?

I grew up in Australia and Lebanon. English is my native language, and I learned Arabic and French in school. So I speak these languages very well. I moved to Germany in 2015, so I started learning German.

What do you do when you’re not at Sapera?

I am a huge fan of podcasts and books; I also regularly post recommendations at Sapera on our inspirations channel on Slack. For a little balance, I exercise, for example with HIIT, “high-intensity training”. Before the coronavirus pandemic, I went to a UX/UI meetup nearly every month. I love learning from other people. It’s great to come back with some new knowledge.

Mary about community:

Dedication, knowledge, self-discovery

Do you apply anything you learn to your work?

Definitely! Let’s take the sport as an example: when I do a HIT workout, then I know that I will be doing three rounds of exercise without any breaks in between. That makes 28 minutes of intense training. This forward-looking thought process helps me have more stamina. When I am working on a task, I see it through to the end.

What does good UI design mean to you?

Communication is the key – in every respect! I can’t say that often enough. UI design is a part of you that’s actually bigger than you. UI design is never a heroic feat of a single person, but rather always a collaboration. I think this is why I love it so much.

"When I am working on a task, I see it through to the end.”

How did you find your way to Sapera?

I once gave a lecture at an Editorial Design Conference in Munich about my master’s project: a digital communication tool for citizen reporting during terror incidents. Well, I met someone from Sapera there (it was still called the Infographics Group at the time). It was interesting what she had to say ... so I applied for an open position and was hired straight away. Berlin calling!

What’s the most interesting thing to you about your work?

Definitely the culture at Sapera! The energy within the team, the dynamic. I like being open so that I can provide my team with the best possible support. That’s really the most important thing to me.

Mary Michel Rizk

Since the summer of 2019, Mary Michel Rizk has been a UI designer at Sapera. For her master’s degree, she wrote a digital communication tool that citizens can use to report terrorist attacks to the police.

Mary InstagramMary LinkedIn

What other team members say

Footer logo
Footer logo.svg

Latest blog entries

You like to read all about new trends and industry insights first?

Subscribe now and don’t miss a thing later.

Input not valid

linkedin
instagram
medium

HomeKarriere

Mary Michel Rizk

„UI Design ist immer ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt“

Mary, Du sprichst vier Sprachen. Wie hast Du das gemacht?

Ich bin in Australien und im Libanon aufgewachsen. Englisch ist meine Muttersprache, Arabisch und Französisch habe ich in der Schule gelernt. Diese Sprachen beherrsche ich daher auch sehr gut. 2015 bin ich nach Deutschland gezogen. Also habe ich begonnen, Deutsch zu lernen.

Was machst, wenn Du nicht bei Sapera bist?

Ich bin ein großer Fan von Podcasts und Büchern, poste bei Sapera auch regelmäßig Empfehlungen auf unserem Inspirations-Channel bei Slack. Zum Ausgleich mache ich Sport, zum Beispiel HIT, also “High Intensity Training”. Vor der Corona-Pandemie war ich fast jeden Monat auf einem UX/UI-Meetup. Ich liebe es, von Leuten zu lernen. Es ist großartig, mit neuem Wissen zurückzukommen.

Mary über Gemeinschaft:

Engagement, Wissen, Selbstentfaltung

Nimmst Du viele Eindrücke wieder mit in die Arbeit?

Auf jeden Fall! Nehmen wir zum Beispiel den Sport: Wenn ich ein HIT-Workout mache, dann weiß ich, dass ich jetzt drei Runden trainiere und dazwischen keine Pause mache. Das sind 28 Minuten intensives Training. Diese vorausschauende Denkweise verhilft mir zu mehr Ausdauer. Wenn ich an einer Aufgabe arbeite, ziehe ich sie bis zum Ende durch.

Was bedeutet gutes UI Design für Dich?

Kommunikation ist der Schlüssel – in jeder Hinsicht! Ich kann das gar nicht genug betonen. UI Design ist ein Teil von Dir, der größer ist als Du selbst. UI Design ist nie das “Heldenprojekt” einer einzelnen Person, sondern immer ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt. Ich denke, darum liebe ich es so sehr.

"Wenn ich an einer Aufgabe arbeite, ziehe ich sie bis zum Ende durch."

Wie hast Du Deinen Weg zu Sapera gefunden?

Ich habe mal in München auf einer Editorial Design Conference einen Vortrag über meine Masterarbeit gehalten: ein digitales Kommunikationstool für Bürger:innenberichterstattung bei Terroranschlägen. Jedenfalls habe ich dort jemanden von Sapera getroffen (damals noch die Infographics Group). Interessant, was sie erzählte … Also bewarb ich mich auf eine freie Stelle bei ihnen und wurde prompt genommen. Berlin calling!

Was findest Du am interessantesten bei der Arbeit?

Auf jeden Fall die Kultur bei Sapera! Diese Energie innerhalb des Teams, die Dynamik. Ich möchte offen sein, damit ich als Teammitglied mein Team so gut wie möglich unterstützen kann. Das ist mir wirklich das Wichtigste.

Mary Michel Rizk

Mary Michel Rizk ist seit Sommer 2019 UI Designerin bei Sapera. Für Ihren Masterabschluss hat sie ein digitales Kommunikationstool geschrieben, mit dem Bürger:innen bei Terroranschlägen die Polizei benachrichtigen können.

Mary InstagramMary LinkedIn

Was andere Teammitglieder sagen

linkedin
instagram
medium

Wie wir den Ort schaffen, an dem Komplexität funktioniert?

Das verraten wir in unserem Newsletter.

Input not valid

© 2021 Sapera GmbH

linkedin
instagram
medium