Home
Careers

Ahmed AbdelHalim

“Sustainability sometimes requires complexity”

Ahmed, what do you like about your work at Sapera?

My job is challenging, and that’s what I like best about it. During programming, it’s all about precisely what Sapera has tasked itself with: making use of complexity, developing simple solutions, and making information easily comprehensible – at all levels. And I have fun taking on this challenge.

How do you approach this challenge?

My tasks include, for example, programming websites for clients in such a way that the client is able to operate and maintain them themselves without a lot of effort. In principle, I do something very similar to what our designers do when they simplify things using graphics and visualizations: I take something complex and put it into an easily accessible form. Everything in life strives to do this, really.

Ahmed on complexity:

challenge, simplification, life

What do you mean?

Every system strives for simplification and tries to dissolve chaos or – as I mentioned – to give complexity a structure. And that for the long term. Sustainability is an important topic for my work in any case when programming.

„It’s like any other aspect of life: if something is important to you, then you get it done."

What does sustainable programming look like?

Software can be compared to plastic in the ocean: the small parts don’t initially appear to make a difference – and then suddenly there are tonnes of waste just floating around. Many programs waste time and resources, overloading us with wasted data and information. In this regard, I attempt to find other, more sustainable paths. Sometimes that’s not very easy and can come into conflict with simplification, because sustainability sometimes requires complexity. In this case, the challenge becomes finding the sweet spot in the middle. That’s what I’m working on.

And you are able to do this at Sapera?

Yes, definitely. At Sapera, the sustainability of a project is crucial and is always taken into consideration. We have to work hard for this – sustainable products don’t just happen. But it’s like any other aspect of life: if something is important to you, then you get it done. Sustainably.

Ahmed AbdelHalim

Ahmed has worked at Sapera as a Senior Backend Developer since 2018. Building sustainable software is important to him – because software has more to do with plastic in the ocean than one might think.

Github

What other team members say

Footer logo
Footer logo.svg

Latest blog entries

You like to read all about new trends and industry insights first?

Subscribe now and don’t miss a thing later.

Input not valid

linkedin
instagram
medium

HomeKarriere

Ahmed AbdelHalim

„Nachhaltigkeit braucht manchmal Komplexität“

Für Ahmed ist es mit Software manchmal wie mit Plastik im Meer: Die kleinen Teile scheinen erstmal nichts auszumachen – und dann schwimmen da plötzlich Tonnen von Müll rum.

Ahmed, was gefällt Dir an deinem Job bei Sapera?

Mein Job ist herausfordernd. Das mag ich am meisten daran. Beim Programmieren geht es um genau das, was Sapera sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat: Komplexität nutzen, einfache Lösungen entwickeln, Informationen leicht verstehbar machen. Auf jeder Ebene. Und diese Herausforderung macht mir Spaß!

Wie gehst du diese Herausforderung an?

Meine Aufgabe ist es zum Beispiel, für Kunden Websites zu programmieren. Und zwar so, dass der Kunde sie unkompliziert selbst bedienen und pflegen kann. Im Prinzip mache ich da etwas ganz Ähnliches wie unsere Designer:innen, wenn sie mit Grafiken und Visualisierungen Dinge vereinfachen: Ich bringe etwas Komplexes in eine leicht zugängliche Form. Genau genommen strebt danach ja ohnehin alles im Leben.

Ahmed über Komplexität:

Herausforderung, Vereinfachung, Leben

Wie meinst Du das?

Jedes System strebt nach Vereinfachung, versucht, Chaos aufzulösen oder – wie beschrieben – Komplexität zu strukturieren. Und zwar nachhaltig. Nachhaltigkeit ist ohnehin ein wichtiges Thema bei meiner Arbeit, beim Programmieren.

„Es ist wie überall im Leben: Wenn dir etwas wichtig ist, kümmerst Du Dich darum.“

Wie sieht nachhaltiges Programmieren aus?

Mit Software ist es wie mit Plastik im Meer: Die kleinen Teile scheinen erstmal nichts auszumachen – und dann schwimmen da plötzlich Tonnen von Müll rum. Viele Programme verschwenden Zeit und Ressourcen, müllen uns zu mit Daten und Informationen. Hier versuche ich, andere, nachhaltigere Wege zu finden. Manchmal ist das gar nicht so einfach und gerät in Widerspruch mit der Vereinfachung. Denn manchmal verlangt Nachhaltigkeit Komplexität. Hier gilt es dann, den Sweetspot in der Mitte zu finden. Daran arbeite ich.

Und bei Sapera kannst Du das?

Ja, definitiv! Bei Sapera ist die Nachhaltigkeit eines Projektes sehr wichtig, sie wird immer mitgedacht. Und es wird hart dafür gearbeitet, nachhaltige Produkte passieren nicht einfach so. Aber auch hier ist es wie überall im Leben: Wenn Dir etwas wichtig ist, kümmerst Du Dich darum. Nachhaltig.

Ahmed AbdelHalim

Ahmed arbeitet seit 2018 als Senior Backend Developer bei Sapera. Ihm ist wichtig, nachhaltige Software zu bauen – denn Software hat mehr mit Plastik im Meer zu tun, als man denkt.

Github

Was andere Teammitglieder sagen

linkedin
instagram
medium

Wie wir den Ort schaffen, an dem Komplexität funktioniert?

Das verraten wir in unserem Newsletter.

Input not valid

© 2021 Sapera GmbH

linkedin
instagram
medium